National Caregivers Month: Betsy is a Younger Onset Caregiver

John and Betsy
John and Betsy attending the Alzheimer’s Public Policy Summit 2011
We were devastated when my loved one (John McClelland) was diagnosed at 55, everything changed. After a couple of years and my position ended, I decided to stay home rather than take another position that required heavy travel. I don’t see myself as a “caregiver” at this time, but I do try to help where I can. It has been an adjustment for me to not work and to deal with the loss of income, but it has been a gift to have time together before the full impact of the disease takes over.

We have traveled the country, visited friends and built new memories. I don’t know how long we will continue to do this, but it has been a special time for us.

I take a lead role in managing our finances; making more of the routine decisions; try to keep projects and plans on track; ensure John has a quiet environment to rest; and has healthy meals. It is hard to watch the days when John is caught in a fog trying to sort out the days activities, it exhausts him. Fortunately we have more good days than bad.

We jointly attend a support group for those in early stage. We have already lost one member and all share in seeing the slow transition of the disease together. The friendships and support we have is very important to us. I also attend a support group for caregivers; our leader is excellent; bringing in support for us on the ongoing grief process, as well as time for us to support one another. In that group, are my heroes who support their loved ones in the later stages of the disease. They are role models of strength, love and commitment. I only hope to be that capable when those demands are called upon to me.

-Betsy Anderson

One thought on “National Caregivers Month: Betsy is a Younger Onset Caregiver

Leave a Reply

