Polar Plunge Participant Judy: Freezing the Day for Alzheimer’s

January 1, 2012:

The day was clear and sunny but a biting wind made my upcoming plunge into the freezing waters that much more daunting. As I inched forward in line my anticipation increased as to what I perceived as my upcoming shock and pain. And then my thoughts shifted to my Grandmother and the shock and pain that she and my family endured as the symptoms of Alzheimer’s disease took root on her body and mind. I thought to myself “nothing can compare to that pain”.

Polar Plunge for Alzheimer's
Judy and Mike Halloran at the Polar Plunge
So my anticipation became one of excitement and determination. I do this plunge for my grandmother! I plunge to remember and honor her and to raise funds for the Alzheimer’s Association in her name. A photographer snapped my picture as I ran into the water; my expression was one of surprise but sheer delight! The shock was over before I knew it but the effort I put into fundraising lives on. I started 2012 off with a smile on my face and a new found alertness in my body that I can make a difference in the lives of those living with this chilling disease. It is my hope that those generous donations from my family and friends has helped provide warmth to those living with Alzheimer’s disease and their caretakers. It is also my hope that I am making my Grandmother proud. And so I plunge again, this time without any fear.
See you January 1, 2013!

-Judy

You can register for the 30th Anniversary Polar Plunge at Boulder Reservoir by visiting YPAAC.org/PolarPlunge

Polar Plungers Freeze the day
Freeze the day with YPAAC at the 2013 Polar Plunge!

Leave a Reply

